That One Moment…

There’s that one distinctive moment that you realize things just are not the same.
Things won’t be the same.
Life has gone on.
In a different direction.
It just can’t be the same.

That moment when you start feeling comfortable again and you start talking.
A lot.
Then you realize the person on the other end of the line just doesn’t care anymore.
Or maybe they care they just don’t have time.
Or maybe it just isn’t something they care to deal with anymore.
I don’t know.
But it becomes so obvious that things are not like they used to be.
The awkward silence.
A moment of weirdness that was never there before.

It’s Ok.
It happens.
It’s a part of the process I guess.
You learn who is there, who never really was, who was but can’t be anymore and who always will be.
It’s a part of growing, moving on.
Moving forward.

Old habits die hard.
I don’t know why.

I do know that I’m OK with it.
There are things we can discuss and things we shouldn’t.
Not can’t.
Shouldn’t.
Learning the new way to do things.
It’s a process.
Some people just can’t be a part of every detail of your life.
That’s OK.

I am thankful for the fact that I realized it.
I felt the awkwardness.
Maybe it was nothing, but to me it was something.
I had to think about it for a few minutes.
Analyze it.
Why did it happen?
Something so important to me, played off like it was nothing.
Because it wasn’t their problem, their issue.
Their time with having to “deal” with that stuff is over, it has been.
If they want to know or if they want to be there for you, they will ask.
They will offer.
Each person in your life has a different role.
I think in order to have successful relationships you have to acknowledge that.
Realize it.
Act accordingly.

-S

imagesFFAD5AC6

Leave a Reply

