Girlfriends

Girlfriends are the sisters we choose.”

I read that on something this morning.
I love it.
It’s true.

One of the things I regret the most about my time as a wife was letting my friends go.
He didn’t like them or we didn’t have time.
I should have always made time.
I should have kept those ladies close.

I think it’s probably a mistake a lot of people make.
We didn’t really go out a lot or hang out a lot.
It just wasn’t his style.
I wanted to be with him so that was just kind of how it worked out.

If I had that time to do over, I would have kept my husband first because I think that’s what we should do.
I would have made time for my girlfriends though.
I think it’s healthy.
I think it helps you deal and cope with life.
We all need a friend to bounce girl stuff off of.
To get a girls perspective.
To relax and have a margarita with.
We all do.

I’m a better Mom when I have me time.
Me time includes my girl time.
I think I would be a better wife or significant other if I had my girl time.

Sometimes it’s the little things that you need them for.
Sometimes it’s the crisis we’re in the middle of.
Sometimes your mom or your boyfriend/husband just doesn’t get it like they do.

I have made some amazing friends over the past couple years.
I have a few that stuck with me through everything but most of them were lost throughout the years.
I believe the people who are meant to be in my life will be.
Regardless of anything else.
Eventually.

My girlfriends have been my saving grace the past few months.
I am so thankful for the friendships and the relationships that I have made.
Seriously, sometimes just a fresh perspective on things can make all the difference.
They give me that.

All of them are so different.
Different personalities and different statuses.
Each brings something unique to my life.
Something I don’t have, something I need.
I hope that I do the same for them.
I hope that they know how much I cherish each of them.
I won’t ever let them go.
I value them and their friendship.
My kids do too.
We always will.
Thank you ladies, you know who you are.

I love you.
With all my heart.

-S

untitled

Leave a Reply

