Single In New York City

I leave in a week for New York.

Single ladies headed to the big city.

I am so excited and so nervous all at the same time.
I will make sure my best friend knows where I am and that she has the phone number to the hotel.
If I go missing she will know where to find me, before my face makes it on a billboard.

There’s a big St. Patty’s day street party the Saturday we are there and an underground pub we just can’t miss…
We will see the Statue of Liberty and Ground Zero.
I think it’s going to be a great time.

I love traveling.
I love flying.
I flew alone for the first time before Thanksgiving.
I was so nervous.
So scared.
I was fine though.
Another thing I could check off my list of new experiences.

That trip was so much fun.
I got to spend the weekend with a friend I hadn’t seen in awhile.
I had my first Long Island at the Hard Rock Café.
I saw Times Square and Madison Square Garden.
I rode a subway and saw payphones again.
I went off walking in New Jersey and got lost.
In high heel boots.
I loved every single minute of it.
Every single one.
I hope I get to hang out with him when I go back.
He’s falling in love so he may be busy. I understand that. I am so happy for him. He deserves that.
He’s a good catch too…

Trips, traveling; they make me think.
Make me remember how life used to be.
How life was going to be…
Every year for our anniversary we made plans to go to New York City. Every year we couldn’t make it happen. We didn’t have the money or one of us couldn’t be off. We never could make it happen.

His first trip with this new life of his was to New York City.
It crushed me.
Did she know we tried to go every year for almost 13 years?
I guess it doesn’t really matter.
It was just another example of him being him.

I love to travel. I want to take a trip by train.
I love road trips, flying, cruises.
When I can, I want to travel all over.
I have so much I want to see, to do.

This trip is something I need.
To go far away, to just enjoy myself.
No stress. Just relax. I am so ready to go.

I want to go back with my kids soon too.
I want my kids to experience traveling and going new places.
I want to travel as a family, like I used to plan but never really could.
I want too.
I will.
We will.

When I get back there’s a beach trip with my best friends and all the kids.

I would go somewhere every month if I could.
Every weekend.

If I learned anything from the years of planning and not making it happen, it’s this; if you want to do something, you find a way to make it happen.
You make it happen. You just do.
You might not have as much money when you get there to splurge, but if you are with the people you want to be with, you will enjoy yourself anyway.

Single ladies in New York City. Bring it on!

-S

images

Leave a Reply

