She’s Very Superstitious

Superstitions. Old Wives Tales. Beliefs. Legends.

There are so many.

Step on a crack and you’ll break your mama’s back. Walking under a ladder or a black cat crossing in front of you is bad luck. Putting your purse on the floor means you’ll stay poor.

Blow on an eyelash and make a wish. Knock on your window and make a wish when a car with one headlight comes past you from the other way. 11:11, 12:12, 10:10 make a wish.

There are so many.

Do I believe them?
I don’t know.

I had a little incident with a broom. I swept over a foot.
Not mine.
Apparently this means that you won’t get married.

I had no idea! None.

Thankfully we found a reversal.

We looked ridiculous but we reversed that mess.

I have to be honest with you though. I don’t know if I believe in all of “that.”
But I was scared! What if something did happen to the owner of the foot I swept?
What if she didn’t get married?
What if her boyfriend stopped taking to her?
What if there was one teeny tiny itty bitty chance that it was true?
By sweeping a foot I could have messed things up big time.

When a car passes me with one headlight I always, always knock twice on my window and make a wish.
That was something my best friend in school taught me and it stuck.
I don’t know why I do it but I do. Just in case.
What does it hurt?
I walk around the ladder.
I make a wish on my eyelash.

Just in case.

Why take the chance?

I don’t believe the owner of the foot would never get married. She is too special for someone to not snag.
More goes into the thought, the act, the decision to be married.
But for a split second I felt like I could have screwed up big time.

I know it’s silly.

Maybe.

I do believe in signs. I believe in soul mates and things happening the way they are supposed too.

Whether we like it or not. What is supposed to happen will eventually happen.

At some point.

But why take a chance?

-S

images

Leave a Reply

