Breathing

I started Crossfit a few weeks ago.

So far, I love it.

All levels, all kinds of people. All working on themselves. Getting stronger. Feeling better.

I like it. A lot actually.

It’s teaching me a lot about myself too.

It’s teaching me that I am capable of a lot more than I have been giving myself credit for. I can push myself. Farther and longer than I thought I could. It’s showing me that I can get better. I start out one way and just a few weeks in I am already improving.

That’s pretty amazing.

I’m not doing a handstand yet but I will keep you updated.

When I first started I was constantly having to be reminded that I needed to breathe. I was holding my breath and I didn’t even realize it. So then I would yawn. I really just thought I was tired.

I didn’t know how to breathe.

Weird.

I am such a weirdo! I really thought this was ridiculous. I laughed about it.

Then I realized that I really had a problem. I did not know how to breathe when working out. Or under any kind of stress actually…

When I am stressing or straining I stop breathing.

Stop. Totally hold my breath.

I don’t know how to breathe either? So at 33 I am also going to learn how to breathe.

Interesting.

Like everything else on this journey I am embracing it. I am learning to breathe in and out. In and out. I have to think about it.

I still catch myself forgetting.

Like with all the changes in my life, with everything, it’s a process. I know that one day I won’t have to think about it anymore. It will just come naturally. Like so many other things I am having to reteach myself. I’m a work in progress and I am making progress. I am happy with my progress.

My name is S and I am learning how to breathe at 33.

-S

untitled

Leave a Reply

