Words

Sometimes there are no words. Sometimes you just need to sit quietly. Just be there. Just listen.

Sometimes you have absolutely no clue what they’re going through. No idea how they feel.

Don’t say “I know” because you don’t. You can’t possibly.

The worst thing you can do is try to compare their feelings and their emotions to something in your life. Unless you’ve been in their same shoes, you don’t know.

No two tragedies are alike. No two life changing moments are the same. No two people feel the exact same way. Ever.

Sometimes silence is best.

Sometimes making them smile is the medicine they need.

Sometimes just making sure they know you’re there is perfect.

I believe people meet for a reason. People come into your life for a purpose.

We all have demons we need to face. Battles we have to fight. Mountains we need to climb.

We don’t have to face those obstacles alone though.

I might not completely understand how you’re feeling right now, just like you might not completely understand my struggles. I promise you that I’m here though. I will sit quietly or be as loud as I can to make you smile. I’ll be by your side. I’ll be your friend. Your shoulder. Your leaning post. Your punching bag.

Whatever you need.
That’s what friends do.
You’re my friend.

Your struggles are my struggles. Your sadness is my sadness.
Your happiness makes me happy.

I don’t have to use words for you to know that. You know it.

I don’t know what to say to you. I cannot even begin to try and imagine your feelings, your pain, your sadness. I don’t pretend like I do. I won’t ever pretend like I do. I promise.

I will sit next to you as long as you need me too. In silence.
I will make you laugh until your tummy hurts. Whatever. Whatever you need my friend. Please just know that I am here.
You aren’t alone.
You are my friend.
You won’t ever be alone.
You are stronger than you know. What an amazing woman you are. You’re a great friend. Smart, caring, compassionate, funny. Loved by so many people.

I don’t have words. I don’t understand. I cannot relate. But I do love you and I am here.

-S

image

Leave a Reply

