And the AC Goes Out…

I go on and on about being able to do things on my own. I just wrote yesterday about how I can change my own light bulbs, mow my own grass…

Miss Independent.

Today I’m kind of laughing at myself.

Kind of.

Yesterday I turned on the AC. I set it to 77.
I didn’t want to come home to an 83 degree house.

We got home last night and it was 81 in the house.
“Why is it 81 in here mom?”
“I don’t know. It’s 81?”

At least it isn’t 83?

The air was on. It was running. It was hot. Well warm.
I won’t exaggerate…

Shoot. I don’t know what to do!

I remember in our first home my husband would sometimes bust out my blow-dryer to defrost our AC.
That was right before it broke.

Ugh.

I have no idea what to do. Actually, I don’t even know where to look to see if there is ice on the stupid thing.

I guess I need help…

It’s always interesting to me who will help. Who will take the time out of their night to save a girl. Who will ignore the request for help.

You learn a lot about a person when you need to do some home repairs! You learn a lot about yourself too actually.

I listened to every direction I was given from my hero for the night. I did everything he told me to do.
The kids were helping. My daughter laughed and said she felt like a handyman. My little one measured everything with the tape measure. We didn’t need to know measurements. That was just what he did to help. All 4 of us worked on the AC exactly how we were told too.
Except the youngest. He measured.

Today it seems to be better. I am still calling on the professionals to make sure it’s all good.

My hero for the night checked on us this morning.
I’m not surprised. He’s just that kind of person.

Last night I was very gently reminded (once again) that I can’t do it all on my own. I do need help. I can do a lot more on my own these days than I could a year ago, but I can’t do it all.

That’s ok.

I was also reminded that I have been blessed with some amazing relationships. I have gotten close to some great people.
Instead of only having one person I could call on in desperate times I now have a few.

It really is all about growing.

Next time the house is 81 degrees I will know what to check.

Next time something new happens I will know who to call.

I am blessed. Blessings aren’t always shown to you in plain view.

It’s all in the way you view things:

My AC went out and I spent my evening melting ice. I missed the first half of an important call because of it. The kids had to stay up past their bedtimes to help me. I inconvenienced a friend for hours. I didn’t get to soak in the bathtub after my workout. Laundry didn’t get put in. Boo Hoo!

My AC went out.
I spent my evening laughing and playing in the water with the kids while they helped me melt ice in the garage.
I got to hear half of an important call; I didn’t miss the whole thing.
I showed my kids that we could fix something.
My daughter hi-fived me when the air cut back on.
The kids got to stay up a little later.
I have a great friend that didn’t mind helping me out one bit, even if it did take a few hours.
My bathtub didn’t leave, it will work tonight too.
I can do laundry this evening.
Oh, and the Tooth Fairy made a visit to our house too.

-S

untitled

Leave a Reply

