My Why

I am involved with a very special direct sales company. One of the very first things they teach us about is finding your “Why”. There is a lot of emphasis on your purpose and your why. Why are you doing this? What is your purpose?

In the beginning it seemed silly to me. Why? Because I want to make extra money. I’m a single mom… Next question please. My purpose? To pay my bills. Isn’t that the same thing?

As time went on and I got more and more involved and I actually listened; not just with my ears but with my heart as well, I learned what they really meant.

There is a reason we get up every morning. There is a reason we were put here on earth. There is something each of us should be doing with our lives. If we don’t know WHY we wake up or what we are doing with our time here on earth then something is missing. Something big. Huge. So we wander around every day. Kind of lost. We might not even realize we are lost. But we are. Very lost.

Wake up, make breakfast, get the kids to school. Go to work or lay on the couch, clean the house, do some laundry, dishes, yard work, watch TV. Pick the kids up from school or daycare, make dinner, do homework. Bed. Rewind, press play, start over. Bills get paid. Maybe. Kids play sports or have activities. Maybe. We go through the motions of living but that isn’t really living a life of Purpose.

purpose

noun

1. the reason for which something exists or is done, made, used, etc.
2.an intended or desired result; end; aim; goal.
3.determination; resoluteness.
4.the subject in hand; the point at issue.
5.practical result, effect, or advantage: to act to good purpose.
 
There is a reason each of us exists. What is your reason? I really had no idea what mine was. I would listen to the leaders of my company speak and I found myself crying, sometimes sobbing. Why am I here? Why am I in this seat, listening to them speak? There has to be a reason. There has to be. What is it for me? I want to feel like they feel.
 
People come into your life at certain times, for a specific reason. So do opportunities. If we aren’t ready to see it, to accept it, the opportunity or the person will be presented again. And again. Until we get it. It might not be the same exact person, it might be a different opportunity but the end result is going to be the same. I truly believe that our lives were planned out a certain way, we are all unique individuals for a reason. We just need to dig deep inside and figure out what that reason is. It’s never to late to do that. Never. What a sad thought to think that we are all just wandering around here, for no purpose whatsoever. To think that all of my mistakes, my flaws, my lessons learned, my regrets (which I no longer consider regrets) were for no reason at all. That’s what I should be crying over. Sobbing.
 
As a kid I loved to write. I would write all the time. I wrote books, poems, stories. I would journal and had diaries. It was just for fun. My sister, she was an amazing writer. She had articles published and won prizes. it was so neat, how easy it was for her to turn it into something more than just “fun”. She is younger than me but was always such an inspiration. She was doing what she wanted to do, she followed her heart no matter where it took her. I was never like that. I had no reason for doing anything. I would try anything once, I had great ideas, great ambitions but I never did anything with them. I would never look at you and say “No, I don’t want to do that, I want to do this.” I would always push my feelings, my dreams and desires aside to make everyone else happy. It’s just the way I was.
 
As time went on with my company, I started to build my team. I had to ask them what their “why” was, what their “purpose” was. Of course this question is posed as “with this company, what is your WHY?” But your reason for joining this company is tied to something personal. So I started hearing their reasons. “I want to stay home with my kids.” “My mom has cancer and I want to stay home to be with her for every appointment.” I started to work on me. I started to become more in hopes of helping them make their dreams come true. I got close to a lot of these people. I had conversations with them about their life and my life and our dreams and our hopes. I heard what they have gone through and what they were going through and my head finally caught up to my heart.
 
My head finally caught up to my heart. For once in my life, they were at the same page.
 
That is my why. Because I have been through so much in my 33 years and it isn’t for nothing. If I keep all of my feelings and all of my screw ups to myself how will other people know that they aren’t alone? That they will be ok too?
That is why. Why I am writing, why I am putting it all out there. making myself vulnerable. Because someone, somewhere will get something from it. Even if it’s only one person. Someone will know that their feelings, their dreams, their desires, they matter. Everything they do is a part of a greater plan. Everyone is here for something. Something big.

-S

images

Leave a Reply

